To help personalize content, measure accesses, and provide a safer experience, we use cookies. By clicking or navigating the site, you agree to allow our collection of information on and off UnternehmerTUM through cookies. Learn more, including about available controls: Cookies Policy.
04/10/2018
UnternehmerTUM presents appliedAI initiative
UnternehmerTUM unveiled the ‘initiative appliedAI’ at a press conference on April 11. UnternehmerTUM, together with 26 leading technology and industrial groups such as Google, NVIDIA, Allianz, Linde, Porsche Consulting, SAP and Siemens, as well as several well-known partners from politics and science, has set itself the goal of driving applied artificial intelligence (AI) in Germany.

For this purpose it wants to convey a broad understanding of AI, its importance and its potential applications. The social and economic impact of artificial intelligence will also be discussed. "Artificial intelligence is key to our future viability. Digitalization is a decisive innovation driver for the economy, and machine learning is a very important aspect of it. That is why I fully support the initiative appliedAI. Our common goal is to be one step ahead of international competition in the future," says Franz Josef Pschierer, Bavarian State Minister for Economic Affairs, Energy and Technology.
copyright UnternehmerTUM/Bert Willer

With its 26 partners, selected start-ups and over 100 dedicated students, the initiative is already one of the biggest in Europe in the field of applied artificial intelligence. It offers start-ups, medium-sized and large companies as well as technology partners an open, non-profit and neutral platform on which to bundle their expertise. As a result, it brings together partners, enterprises and households and interested parties under one roof to work on innovative AI solutions for a variety of application areas and to accelerate their deployment.  


"Artificial intelligence is already influencing how we’ll travel, feed ourselves and work in the future. The developments in recent years in the field of autonomous driving or in robotics alone make it clear that AI has great significance for the future of our economy and our society," says Dr. Andreas Liebl, CEO of UnternehmerTUM Projekt GmbH and head of the initiative appliedAI. "We have joined forces with leading industrial and technology companies in order to clarify the technology by means of knowledge sharing, qualification and prototyping and to accelerate its application."
copyright UnternehmerTUM/Bert Willer

In the KI laboratory in Garching near Munich, UnternehmerTUM provides all interested parties with state-of-the-art hardware, the knowledge of local experts, consulting on the development of AI technologies, and help with establishing their areas of application. NVIDIA, as one of the leading companies in the field of AI and autonomous driving, is providing its expertise and hardware in the field of GPU processor technology.
 
"NVIDIA is committed to the appliedAI initiative because it offers a unique network of startups, industry and science in Germany," say Jaap Zuiderveld, Vice President of NVIDIA EMEAI. "Artificial intelligence will not become a branch of industry, it will become an integral part of every sector. UnternehmerTUM is the right partner to transform the promise of AI technology into real results."
 
Further information on the initiative appliedAI is available at: www.appliedai.de

 


first picture (f.l.): Jörg Migende (BayWa), Carl McQuillan (Pure Storage), Gemma Garriga (Allianz), Christoph Steiger (Hoffmann Group), Deepa Gautam-Nigge (SAP), Norbert Lütke-Entrup (Siemens), Dr. Andreas Liebl (appliedAI), Dirk Pfitzer (Porsche Consulting), Aksoy Grüner (Pure Storage), Dirk Ramhorst (Wacker), Franz Josef Pschierer (Bayerischer Staatsminister für Wirtschaft, Energie und Technologie), Philipp Karmires (Linde Group), Dr. Reinhard Ploss (Infineon), Wieland Holfelder (Google), Jaap Zuiderveld (Nvidia), Stefan Läufer (GC Gruppe), Dr. Torsten Jeworrek (Munich RE), Michael Tagscherer (Giesecke+Devrient), Ewa Dürr (Google), Dr. Holger Wittges (ZD.B), Alexander Waldmann (appliedAI)

second picture (f.l.):  Franz Josef Pschierer (Bayerischer Staatsminister für Wirtschaft, Energie und Technologie), Dr. Andreas Liebl (appliedAI)

10.04.2018
UnternehmerTUM präsentiert appliedAI Initiative
UnternehmerTUM hat im Rahmen einer Pressekonferenz am 11. April die Initiative appliedAI vorgestellt. Der Zusammenschluss von UnternehmerTUM mit 26 führenden Technologie- und Industriekonzernen wie Google, NVIDIA, Allianz, Linde, Porsche Consulting, SAP und Siemens sowie namhaften Partnern aus Politik und Wissenschaft hat es sich zum Ziel gesetzt, die Anwendung von künstlicher Intelligenz (KI) in Deutschland voranzutreiben.
Dazu möchte sie ein breites Verständnis von KI, ihrer Bedeutung und ihrer Anwendungsmöglichkeiten vermitteln. Auch die gesellschaftlichen und wirtschaftlichen Auswirkungen von künstlicher Intelligenz sollen diskutiert werden. „Künstliche Intelligenz ist der Schlüssel für unsere Zukunftsfähigkeit. Die Digitalisierung ist ein entscheidender Innovationstreiber für die Wirtschaft und maschinelles Lernen dabei ein ganz wesentlicher Aspekt. Deswegen unterstütze ich die Initiative appliedAI mit vollen Kräften. Unser gemeinsames Ziel ist es, dass wir der internationalen Konkurrenz künftig einen Schritt voraus sind“, sagt Franz Josef Pschierer, Bayerischer Staatsminister für Wirtschaft, Energie und Technologie.
copyright UnternehmerTUM/Bert Willer

 

Die Initiative zählt mit 26 Partnern, ausgewählten Start-ups sowie über 100 engagierten Studenten schon jetzt zu den größten Initiativen in Europa im Bereich angewandter künstlicher Intelligenz. Sie bietet Start-ups, Mittelständlern und Großunternehmen sowie Technologiepartnern eine offene, gemeinnützige und neutrale Plattform, auf der ihre Expertise gebündelt wird. Damit verbindet sie Partner, Unternehmen und Interessierten unter einem Dach, um an innovativen KI-Lösungen für eine Vielzahl von Anwendungsgebieten zu arbeiten und ihren Einsatz zu beschleunigen.  


„Künstliche Intelligenz beeinflusst schon jetzt, wie wir uns zukünftig fortbewegen, uns ernähren und wie wir arbeiten. Allein die Entwicklungen in den letzten Jahren im Bereich des autonomen Fahrens oder in der Robotik zeigen, dass KI eine große Bedeutung für die Zukunft unserer Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft hat“, sagt Dr. Andreas Liebl, Geschäftsführer der UnternehmerTUM Projekt GmbH und Leiter der Initiative appliedAI. „Wir haben uns mit führenden Industrie- und Technologieunternehmen zusammengeschlossen, um mithilfe des Wissensaustauschs, der Qualifizierung und des Prototypings über die Technologie aufzuklären und deren Anwendung zu beschleunigen.“
copyright UnternehmerTUM/Bert Willer

Im KI-Labor in Garching bei München stellt UnternehmerTUM allen Interessierten modernste Hardware, das Wissen von Experten vor Ort und Beratung bei der Entwicklung von KI-Technologien und der Erschließung ihrer Anwendungsgebiete zur Verfügung. NVIDIA, als eines der führenden Unternehmen im Bereich KI und autonomes fahren, stellt hierfür seine Expertise und Hardware im Bereich der GPU-Prozessoren-Technik bereit.

„NVIDIA engagiert sich in der appliedAI-Initiative, da es ein in Deutschland einzigartiges Netzwerk aus Start-ups, Industrie und Wissenschaft bietet" sagte Jaap Zuiderveld, Vice President, NVIDIA EMEAI. „Künstliche Intelligenz wird kein Industriezweig werden, sie wird Teil jeder Branche sein. UnternehmerTUM ist der richtige Partner, um das Versprechen der KI-Technologie in echte Ergebnisse zu transformieren."

Weitere Informationen zur Initiative appliedAI erhalten Sie unter: www.appliedai.de

 


Erstes Bild (v.l.): Jörg Migende (BayWa), Carl McQuillan (Pure Storage), Gemma Garriga (Allianz), Christoph Steiger (Hoffmann Group), Deepa Gautam-Nigge (SAP), Norbert Lütke-Entrup (Siemens), Dr. Andreas Liebl (appliedAI), Dirk Pfitzer (Porsche Consulting), Aksoy Grüner (Pure Storage), Dirk Ramhorst (Wacker), Franz Josef Pschierer (Bayerischer Staatsminister für Wirtschaft, Energie und Technologie), Philipp Karmires (Linde Group), Dr. Reinhard Ploss (Infineon), Wieland Holfelder (Google), Jaap Zuiderveld (Nvidia), Stefan Läufer (GC Gruppe), Dr. Torsten Jeworrek (Munich RE), Michael Tagscherer (Giesecke+Devrient), Ewa Dürr (Google), Dr. Holger Wittges (ZD.B), Alexander Waldmann (appliedAI)

Zweites Bild (v.l.):  Franz Josef Pschierer (Bayerischer Staatsminister für Wirtschaft, Energie und Technologie), Dr. Andreas Liebl (appliedAI)