03/18/2019
Federal minister Altmaier visits UnternehmerTUM
 
When it comes to successful business startups, Germany is lagging behind by international standards, particularly when compared to the US and China. According to Peter Altmaier, German Federal Minister for Economic Affairs and Energy, we’re currently facing a situation in Europe where multiple old companies are falling away and, for the first time, new capital-rich companies are not necessarily being established—and are instead being founded in China and the US. Altmaier has launched the Startup Initiative in an effort to change this.

In the context of this initiative, Altmaier paid a visit to UnternehmerTUM. Together with Dr. Helmut Schönenberger, UnternehmerTUM founder and CEO, designated TUM President Prof. Thomas Hofmann as well as representatives from various tech startups, Altmaier discussed how the worlds of politics, science and business could join forces to turn Germany into a hotspot for more scalable startups.

All participants agreed that venture capital is key for business startups and that there’s not yet enough of it in Germany. Altmaier underlined that finding venture capital is a challenging problem faced by many startups.

Copyright: UnternehmerTUM / Bert Willer

All participants agreed that venture capital is key for business startups and that there’s not yet enough of it in Germany. Altmaier underlined that finding venture capital is a challenging problem faced by many startups. So how can the government help bring together knowhow and capital? Up until now, 250 million euros have been invested in startups in Munich—yet some 100 billion are actually needed.

Beyond that, every business startup is a matter of courage and the inner drive to develop something new and innovative. This requires the support of experts from various fields who can help startup entrepreneurs overcome technical, bureaucratic and financial obstacles. Safe framework conditions are necessary to promote entrepreneurial spirit and create space for trying out innovative ideas.
Copyright: UnternehmerTUM / Bert Willer

UnternehmerTUM has multiple programs to offer in this area including Manage&More, the Digital Product School, the Digital Hub Mobility, the Landing Pad or our workshop MakerSpace. All of them provide an opportunity for startup entrepreneurs to follow their starting idea and change the world. UnternehmerTUM startups including MaioTKiutra and Kumovis are turning new technologies into applications, creating future-proof jobs and securing Germany’s position as an innovation hub.

18.03.2019
Bundesminister Peter Altmaier besucht UnternehmerTUM

Geht es um erfolgreiches Gründen hinkt Deutschland im internationalen Vergleich Ländern wie den USA oder China noch hinterher. Nach Peter Altmaier, Bundesminister für Wirtschaft und Energie, haben wir zum ersten Mal die Situation, dass ein Teil der alten Unternehmen wegfällt, aber neue kapitalstarke Unternehmen nicht mehr unbedingt in Europa, sondern in China und den USA entstehen. Um das zu ändern rief Altmaier die Gründungsoffensive ins Leben.


Im Zuge dieser Offensive besuchte er die UnternehmerTUM, um mit Dr. Helmut Schönenberger, Gründer und Geschäftsführer von UnternehmerTUM, dem designierten TUM-Präsident Prof. Thomas Hofmann und Vertretern von Tech-Start-ups, darüber zu diskutieren, wie Politik, Wissenschaft und die Wirtschaft für die Gründungsoffensive die Kräfte bündeln können, um in Deutschland mehr skalierbare Start-ups hervorzubringen.

Hierbei war man sich einig, dass bei der Gründung eines Start-ups Risikokapital eine zentrale Rolle spielt und dass es von diesem in Deutschland noch zu wenig gibt. 

Copyright: UnternehmerTUM / Bert Willer

Altmaier wies auf das Problem vieler Start-ups hin, Risikokapital aufzutreiben. Wie kann der Staat Know-how und Kapital zusammenbringen? Bisher wurden in München 250 Millionen Euro in Gründungen investiert, aber nötig wäre ein Betrag um die 100 Milliarden Euro.

Darüber hinaus hat jede Gründung auch etwas mit Mut zu tun und dem inneren Antrieb, Neues und Innovatives entwickeln zu wollen. Dafür benötigt es aber verschiedene Angebote von Experten, die bei fachlichen, bürokratischen & finanziellen Hürden unterstützen. Es muss ein sicherer Rahmen geschaffen werden, der Gründergeist fördert und Raum für das Ausprobieren von innovativen Ideen schafft.
Copyright: UnternehmerTUM / Bert Willer

UnternehmerTUM bietet mit zahlreichen Programmen, wie Manage&More, der Digital Product School, dem Digital Hub Mobility, dem Landing Pad oder unserer Prototypen-Werkstatt MakerSpace Möglichkeiten, seiner Gründungsidee nachzugehen und die Welt zu verändern. UnternehmerTUM Start-ups wie MaioT, Kiutra oder Kumovis bringen neue Technologien in die Anwendung, schaffen zukunftsfähige Arbeitsplätze und stärken den Innovationsstandort Deutschland.