09/20/2019
Launch of DIGITAL BUSINESS LAB: Ready for the digital future

UnternehmerTUM, Europe’s leading Center for Innovation and Business Creation, celebrates the launch of its new “Digital Business Lab”. In cooperation with the Bavarian Ministry of Economic Affairs, UnternehmerTUM strives to provide medium-sized companies in Bavaria with particularly fast and practical assistance in their digital transformation process.


“Especially medium-sized companies are affected dramatically by the digital transformation”, says Managing Director and co-initiator Sascha Rehbock, describing the motivation to launch the program. “International competitors or startups are currently pushing their way into the market and forcing traditional companies to massively increase their pace of innovation.” However, most of them seem to be unable to do just that because there was a lack of qualified experts. According to a recent study by the Chamber of Commerce and Industry (IHK), the shortage of skilled workers for small and medium-sized businesses is becoming particularly acute in economically strong Bavaria: while in 2018, around 260,000 skilled workers were missing across all sectors, by 2030 there will be around 450,000 people. This presents a real threat, as small and medium-sized businesses, represented by more than 600,000 companies and providing around four million jobs, are the decisive economic factor in the state.

Solutions for the digital transformation in twelve weeks
This is exactly where the Digital Business Lab (DBL) comes in: interested companies send one to three of their employees to Munich where experienced coaches train them within three months on how to develop digital products, services or even business models exemplarily. "Our program particularly addresses enterprises with 150 to 1,500 employees, says Rehbock. The DBL is open for all industries and further offering interested companies the unique opportunity to cooperate with international talents during its duration - and allowing them to take them on. The Lab recruits young specialists via the large university network of UnternehmerTUM.

Copyright: UnternehmerTUM / Steffen Kastner

 

Bavaria’s Minister of Economic Affairs appreciated the practical character of the Digital Business Lab
To guarantee the funding of the talents, the initiators of the DBL were able to win over the Bavarian State Ministry of Economic Affairs, Regional Development and Energy as a sponsor. For Bavaria's Minister of Economic Affairs Hubert Aiwanger, this is an ideal partnership: "The Digital Business Lab is an important component of our digital transformation strategy for SMEs. With its focus on larger SMEs, it complements the 'Digital Bonus' (a funding program) for smaller companies. The Digital Business Lab promotes the digital further education of employees in medium-sized companies and university graduates and enables intensive exchange between the two groups." 

Copyright: UnternehmerTUM / Digital Product School Munich

"This experience will convince many graduates to aspire a professional career in the SME sector. I particularly appreciate the practical character of the Digital Business Lab. This is where international talents meet Bavarian SMEs to work together on digital innovations and solutions”, says Minister Aiwanger.

Rehbock and his team are convinced that this is an ambitious project with a great chance of success: "SMEs have the best prerequisites for digital change. They have shorter decision-making processes than large corporations. Besides, managers often make more courageous decisions. Well-trained and motivated employees can achieve a lot in a short period - and we want to empower them to do so." 

A video about the Bavarian State Government's support of the Digital Business Lab can be found here
Learn more about the Digital Business Lab on its website.


Copyright of header image: UnternehmerTUM / Digital Product School Munich

20.09.2019
Start des Digital Business Lab: Bereit für die digitale Zukunft

UnternehmerTUM, Europas führendes Zentrum für Innovation und Gründung, feierte kürzlich den Startschuss für sein neues “Digital Business Lab”. In Kooperation mit dem bayerischen Wirtschaftsministerium möchte UnternehmerTUM hier mittelständischen Firmen in Bayern besonders schnelle und praxisnahe Hilfe bei der digitalen Transformation geben.

„Gerade Mittelständler trifft der digitale Wandel besonders hart”, beschreibt Managing Director und Mit-Initiator Sascha Rehbock die Motivation für das Programm, „internationale Konkurrenten oder Start-ups drängen derzeit in den Markt und zwingen Traditionsbetriebe, ihr Innovationstempo massiv zu erhöhen.” Nur schafften die meisten gerade dies nicht, weil es an qualifizierten Experten fehle. Besonders im wirtschaftsstarken Bayern verschärft sich der Fachkräftemangel für den Mittelstand laut einer aktuellen IHK-Studie: Fehlten 2018 über alle Branchen hinweg rund 260.000 Fachkräfte, werden es bis 2030 rund 450.000 Personen sein. Eine reale Gefahr, ist der Mittelstand doch mit seinen über 600.000 Betrieben und rund vier Millionen Arbeitsplätzen der entscheidende Wirtschaftsfaktor im Land.

Lösungen für den digitalen Wandel in zwölf Wochen
Genau da setzt das Digital Business Lab (DBL) mit seinem Angebot an: Interessierte Firmen entsenden ein bis drei ihrer Mitarbeiter nach München. Dort schulen erfahrene Coaches innerhalb von drei Monaten, wie man selbst digitale Produkte, Dienstleistungen oder sogar Geschäftsmodelle beispielhaft entwickeln kann. „Unser Programm richtet sich vor allem an Unternehmen mit 150 bis 1.500 Mitarbeitern”, so Rehbock. Man sei offen für alle Branchen. Darüber hinaus bietet das DBL für interessierte Firmen die einmalige Chance, während dieser Zeit mit internationalen Talenten zusammenzuarbeiten - und diese auch übernehmen zu dürfen. Die jungen Fachkräfte rekrutiert das DBL über das große Hochschul-Netzwerk von UnternehmerTUM. 
Copyright: UnternehmerTUM / Steffen Kastner

 

Bayerns Wirtschaftsminister Hubert Aiwanger würdigt den praxisnahen Charakter des Digital Business Labs
Um die Finanzierung der Talente zu gewährleisten, konnten die Initiatoren des DBLs das Bayerische Staatsministerium für Wirtschaft, Landesentwicklung und Energie als Förderer gewinnen. Für Bayerns Wirtschaftsminister Hubert Aiwanger eine ideale Partnerschaft: „Das Digital Business Lab ist ein wichtiger Bestandteil unserer digitalen Transformationsoffensive für den Mittelstand. Mit seiner Stoßrichtung auf den größeren Mittelstand ergänzt es den Digitalbonus für kleinere Unternehmen. Das Digital Business Lab fördert die digitale Weiterbildung mittelständischer Mitarbeiter und von Uni-Absolventen und ermöglicht den intensiven Austausch zwischen beiden Gruppen."
Copyright: UnternehmerTUM / Digital Product School Munich

 

"Diese Erfahrung wird viele Absolventen von einer Berufskarriere im Mittelstand überzeugen. Am Digital Business Lab schätze ich ganz besonders den praxisnahen Charakter. Hier treffen internationale Talente auf den bayerischen Mittelstand, und es wird gemeinsam an digitalen Innovationen und Lösungen gearbeitet”, meint Minister Aiwanger.
 
Ein ambitioniertes Projekt mit großer Erfolgsaussicht, davon sind Rehbock und sein Team überzeugt: „Mittelständler besitzen eigentlich die besten Voraussetzungen für den digitalen Wandel. Sie haben kürzere Entscheidungswege als große Konzerne. Außerdem treffen Verantwortliche oft mutigere Entschlüsse. Gut ausgebildete und motivierte Mitarbeiter können dort in kurzer Zeit viel bewirken - und wir wollen sie dazu befähigen.” 
 
Das Video zur Förderung des Digital Business Labs durch die Bayerische Staatsregierung finden Sie hier. 
Mehr zum Digital Business Lab finden Sie auf der Webseite.
 
 
Copyright Headerbild: UnternehmerTUM / Digital Product School Munich