To help personalize content, measure accesses, and provide a safer experience, we use cookies. By clicking or navigating the site, you agree to allow our collection of information on and off UnternehmerTUM through cookies. Learn more, including about available controls: Cookies Policy.
04/20/2018
Forum UnternehmerTUM 2018: The future is now!
What better place than the BMW Welt to present the future of mobility? Where BMW celebrates sheer driving pleasure, a young jeans-clad entrepreneur from UnternehmerTUM demonstrated sheer flying pleasure to 700 invited guests. "Our goal is a world in which anyone can easily fly anywhere they like all by themselves" – that was how Daniel Wiegand described the vision for his start-up Lilium.
His amazing idea of an ‘electric air taxi’ for town and country fascinated the audience, and even experienced media professional Dominik Wichmann, who presented the evening with routine elegance and eloquence, was truly captivated by all this pioneering spirit. "We all love Lilium!"

For the entrepreneur and founder of UnternehmerTUM Susanne Klatten, the evening’s host, all this euphoria is the key reason for her commitment. Up on stage, she gave relaxed answers to the moderator’s questions. Asked about the meaning of her work, she replied:

"It gives me great pleasure to support young people with good ideas." And she added: "I only do things that have social relevance – and good ideas always have social relevance."

Copyright UnternehmerTUM/Bert Willer

Unique conditions for startups

With UnternehmerTUM, she has succeeded. Or, as CEO Helmut Schönenberger put it: "We have created a unique ecosystem for founders, to transform good ideas into actual companies." Every year, UnternehmerTUM produces around 50 start-ups – that’s an average of one per week. In a country whose economy is characterized by established companies, all those startups have the potential to do great things. The social relevance of new technologies was the main theme of the evening. Decision-makers from industry, from start-ups and from the scientific world all met at the Forum

Copyright UnternehmerTUM/Bert Willer

to discuss key topics such as Artificial Intelligence, Personalized Medicine or the Future of Mobility. This exchange of knowledge was made possible for the first time by five side events, at which the participants debated intensively with experts from the respective fields. In keeping with the global mission of UnternehmerTUM and the increasing number of international partners, the Forum UnternehmerTUM was held in English for the first time.


Smart Money for Smart Ideas

The grand finale of the Forum - the start of the European initiative "Industrial Innovators" - was just as international. This initiative, launched by UnternehmerTUM, is aimed at supporting and connecting the best tech founders throughout Europe in order to pave the way for the next Europe-based global market leader. The European Investment Fund is a co-initiator here, and was represented on the Forum podium by its boss, Pier Luigi Gilibert. The charismatic Italian, who has decades of expertise in the international financial services industry, summed things up neatly: "We want to turn public money into smart money."

Further information about the programme and the speakers at this year's Forum can be found at forum.unternehmertum.de

20.04.2018
Forum UnternehmerTUM 2018: Die Zukunft ist jetzt!
Gibt es einen besseren Ort als die BMW Welt, um die Zukunft der Mobilität zu präsentieren? Dort, wo BMW die Freude am Fahren feiert, zeigte auf der Bühne ein junger Entrepreneur der UnternehmerTUM in Jeans den 700 geladenen Gästen die Freude am Fliegen. „Unser Ziel ist eine Welt, in der jeder selbst ganz einfach überall hinfliegen kann“, erklärte Daniel Wiegand die Vision seines Start-up Lilium.
Die verrückte Idee eines elektrischen Lufttaxis für Stadt und Land faszinierte das Auditorium. Selbst Moderator Dominik Wichmann, der als erfahrener Medienmann so eloquent wie routiniert durch den Abend führte, ließ sich vom Gründergeist begeistern. „Wir alle lieben Lilium!“

Für die Gastgeberin des Abends, Susanne Klatten, ist diese Euphorie entscheidender Grund ihres Engagements. Die Unternehmerin und Gründerin von UnternehmerTUM stellte sich entspannt den Fragen des Moderators auf der Bühne. Auf den Sinn ihrer Arbeit angesprochen, antwortete sie:

„Es macht mir große Freude, junge Menschen mit guten Ideen zu unterstützen.“ Und ergänzte: „Ich mache nur Dinge, die gesellschaftliche Relevanz haben. Und gute Ideen haben immer gesellschaftliche Relevanz.“

Copyright UnternehmerTUM/Bert Willer

Einzigartige Bedingungen für Start-ups

Mit UnternehmerTUM ist ihr dies geglückt. Oder wie Geschäftsführer Helmut Schönenberger es formulierte: „Wir haben ein einzigartiges Ökosystem für Gründer geschaffen, um aus guten Ideen echte Unternehmen zu machen.“ Jedes Jahr bringt UnternehmerTUM rund 50 Start-ups hervor, im Schnitt eines pro Woche. Sie alle haben das Potenzial für Großes in einem Land, dessen Wirtschaft durch etablierte Unternehmen geprägt ist. Die gesellschaftliche Relevanz von neuen Technologien war der rote Faden des Abends. Entscheider aus der Industrie, aus Start-ups und Wissenschaft trafen sich beim Forum,

Copyright UnternehmerTUM/Bert Willer

um über wichtige Themen wie Künstliche Intelligenz, personalisierte Medizin oder die Zukunft der Mobilität zu diskutieren. Möglich machten den Wissensaustausch erstmals fünf Side-Events, bei denen die Teilnehmer intensiv mit Experten aus den jeweiligen Bereichen debattierten. Um dem globalen Anspruch von UnternehmerTUM und der steigenden Zahl von internationalen Kooperationspartnern gerecht zu werden, fand das Forum UnternehmerTUM 2018 erstmals in englischer Sprache statt.


Smart Money for Smart Ideas

International war auch das große Finale des Forums mit dem Launch der europäischen Initiative „Industrial Innovators“. Die von UnternehmerTUM ins Leben gerufene Initiative soll die besten Tech-Gründer in ganz Europa unterstützen und vernetzen –Grundstein für die nächsten weltweiten Marktführer mit Sitz in Europa. Mitinitiator der Initiative ist der European Investment Fund. Der wurde an diesem Abend durch seinen Chef Pier Luigi Gilibert auf dem Podium vertreten. Der charismatische Italiener mit jahrzehntelanger Expertise im internationalen Finanzgeschäft brachte es mit Esprit auf den Punkt: „We want to turn public money into smart money.“

Weitere Infos zum Programm und den Speakern des diesjährigen Forums finden Sie unter forum.unternehmertum.de