02/27/2019
Forum UnternehmerTUM – Strong network for tech start-ups

At Forum UnternehmerTUM, Europe’s leading centre for innovation and foundation presented itself as a strong network for tech start-ups. Professional support and inspiring surroundings make it possible for even a “unicorn” to grow up here. The optimistic atmosphere which prevailed at the annual international technology conference and at the networks in the BMW Welt that followed was only darkened in one regard: in Europe there is not sufficient venture capital available for investment.


Of the 850 participants, Poh Kam Wong, entrepreneurship professor at the NUS Business School in Singapore, travelled the furthest distance to attend. He was happy to make the trip because he is convinced that networking entrepreneurs internationally is an important factor for success. That’s why he sends his students to start-ups located in technological hotspots worldwide, to Silicon Valley, New York, Shanghai – and Munich.

For Professor Thomas Hofmann, the designated President of TU München, this is precisely the right way to go: “We need to set up an ecosystem internationally in which young entrepreneurs can move freely and learn from one another,” said Thomas Hofmann at the opening event of the Forum.

Copyright: UnternehmerTUM / Bert Willer

And he emphasised that Munich has just as much to offer founders as Silicon Valley: outstanding universities, big DAX corporations and an inspiring environment.


The first unicorn from Munich

How inspiring Munich is shown by the success of Celonis, the first spin-off of TUM that can join the ranks of globally successful “unicorns”. Celonis offers enterprises solutions for analysing business processes and designing them more efficiently. SAP was an important partner on the road to success, as Bastian Nominacher, co-founder of Celonis, and Christian Klein from SAP reported. “I understood two minutes into the pitch which problem was to be solved with which technology,” said Christian Klein, explaining one of the reasons why he is convinced about Celonis.

He thus put in a nutshell what is most important to a founder: passion and the power of persuasion.

Copyright: UnternehmerTUM / Bert Willer

Or as Helmut Schönenberger, CEO of UnternehmerTUM, said at the opening round: “People are the secret to success, people who think entrepreneurially, who enthusiastically back new solutions.” 


„We need 50 billion a year“

But in addition to passion, every founder needs a pile of money. Experts discussed the state of start-up financing in Europe at one of four parallel sessions. Klaus Hommels, founder of the investment company Lakestar, made a passionate appeal to the auditorium that it is crucial to invest considerably more in the founder ecosystem in Europe than has previously been the case. “If European enterprises disappear from DAX, we need new companies to take their place in order to secure the wealth of our children. 200 or 300 million dollars a year won’t do the trick, we need 50 billion.”

Copyright: UnternehmerTUM / Bert Willer

Hauke Stars, member of the executive board of the Deutsche Börse, observes that investors are becoming more and more interested in technological start-ups. She also reported on the successful venture network with UnternehmerTUM: “We bring investors and start-ups together and have already listed seven enterprises from the network on the stock exchange.”


Artificial intelligence and ethics

But the Forum wasn’t just about money and success. There was also discussion about what the world of tomorrow should look like. How will we work? What will the cities of tomorrow look like? How will digitalisation change out lives?

Professor Alexander Filipovic, ethicist and theologian, from the Hochschule für Philosophie München, illustrated which societal challenges artificial intelligence will usher in. He is a member of the committee of enquiry of the German Bundestag on artificial intelligence (AI). “The questions raised as a result of AI are as manifold as the various applications,” said Filipovic.

Copyright: UnternehmerTUM / Bert Willer

Whose fault is it when an autonomous system makes a mistake? Do we want robots taking care of our elderly? How can we develop AI systems which have internalised our values? “Experts inside and outside of the committee of enquiry are currently looking for answers to many questions of this kind,” explained Alexander Filipovic. “I think that the voice of ethicists is essential here.”

Kai Schmidhuber, Chief Digital Director of L’Oréal Deutschland, provided insight into how digitalisation is changing traditional trading. Thomas Bachem, founder and chancellor of CODE University in Berlin, outlined how the university of the future may look. And the pitches of successful start-ups such as deepC, shyftplan, Innoactive, blik, Isar Aerospace and TWAICE imparted a sense of the business ideas for strong growth which are supported by the UnternehmerTUM network.

More Information at forum.unternehmertum.de

27.02.2019
Forum UnternehmerTUM – Starkes Netzwerk für Tech-Start-ups

Beim Forum UnternehmerTUM präsentierte sich Europas führendes Zentrum für Innovation und Gründung als starkes Netzwerk für Tech-Start-ups. Professionelle Förderung und inspirierendes Umfeld machen es möglich, dass hier sogar ein „Einhorn“ herangewachsen ist. Die optimistische Stimmung, die auf der jährlichen internationalen Technologiekonferenz und beim anschließenden Netzwerken in der BMW Welt herrschte, wurde nur durch einen Punkt getrübt: Es gibt in Europa nicht genügend Risikokapital zur Förderung.


Die weiteste Anreise der über 850 Teilnehmenden hatte wohl Poh Kam Wong, Professor für Unternehmertum an der NUS Business School in Singapur. Er nahm diese Reise gerne auf sich, weil er überzeugt ist, dass internationale Vernetzung der Entrepreneure ein wichtiger Erfolgsfaktor ist. Daher schickt er seine Studenten zu Start-ups in die technologischen Hotspots dieser Welt, ins Silicon Valley, nach New York, Shanghai – und nach München.

Für Professor Thomas Hofmann, den designierten Präsident der TU München ist das genau der richtige Weg: „Wir müssen international ein Ökosystem aufbauen, in dem sich die jungen Unternehmer frei bewegen und voneinander lernen können“, sagte Hofmann in der Eröffnungsveranstaltung des Forums.

Copyright: UnternehmerTUM / Bert Willer

Und er betonte, dass München Gründern das Gleiche bieten könne, wie das Silicon Valley: exzellente Universitäten, große Dax-Konzerne und ein inspirierendes Umfeld.


Das erste Unicorn aus München

Wie inspirierend München ist, zeigt der Erfolg von Celonis, dem ersten Spin-off der TUM, das sich in die Reihe der weltweit erfolgreichen „Einhörner“ einreihen kann.  Celonis bietet Unternehmen Lösungen, um Businessprozesse zu analysieren und effizienter zu gestalten. Wichtiger Partner auf dem Weg zum Erfolg war SAP, wie Bastian Nominacher, Mitbegründer von Celonis und Christian Klein von SAP berichteten. „Im Pitch habe ich in zwei Minuten begriffen, welches Problem mit welcher Technologie gelöst werden soll“, erklärte Christian Klein einen der Gründe, warum ihn Celonis überzeugte.  

Damit brachte er auf den Punkt, was für einen Gründer am wichtigsten ist: Leidenschaft und Überzeugungskraft.

Copyright: UnternehmerTUM / Bert Willer

Oder wie Helmut Schönenberger, CEO von UnternehmerTUM es in der Eröffnungsrunde sagte: „Das Geheimnis für den Erfolg sind die Menschen, unternehmerisch denkende Menschen, die neue Lösungen mit Begeisterung vertreten.“ 


„Wir brauchen 50 Milliarden pro Jahr“

Neben Leidenschaft braucht jeder Gründer aber eine Menge Geld. Wie es mit der Finanzierung von Start-ups in Europa bestellt ist, diskutierten Experten in einer der vier parallelen Sessions. Klaus Hommels, Gründer der Investmentgesellschaft Lakestar, richtete einen leidenschaftlichen Appell an das Auditorium, dass in Europa wesentlich mehr als bisher in das Gründer-Ökosystem investiert werden müsse. „Wenn europäische Unternehmen aus dem DAX verschwinden, brauchen wir als Ersatz neue Firmen, die den Wohlstand unserer Kinder sichern. Es reichen nicht 200 oder 300 Millionen Dollar pro Jahr, wir brauchen 50 Milliarden.“

Copyright: UnternehmerTUM / Bert Willer

Dass Investoren zunehmend Interesse an technologischen Start-ups haben, hat Hauke Stars, Vorstandsmitglied der Deutschen Börse, beobachtet. Sie berichtete auch von dem erfolgreichen Venture-Netzwerk mit UnternehmerTUM: „Wir bringen Investoren und Start-ups zusammen und haben aus dem Netzwerk heraus bereits sieben Unternehmen an die Börse gebracht.“


Künstliche Intelligenz und Ethik

Beim Forum ging es aber nicht nur um Geld und Erfolg. Diskutiert wurde auch, wie die Welt in Zukunft aussehen soll. Wie werden wir arbeiten? Wie werden unsere Städte morgen aussehen? Wie wird die Digitalisierung unser Leben verändern?

Welche gesellschaftlichen Herausforderungen die künstliche Intelligenz mit sich bringt, verdeutlichte der Ethiker und Theologe Professor Alexander Filipovic von der Hochschule für Philosophie München. Er ist Mitglied in der Enquete-Kommission des Deutschen Bundestages zur Künstlichen Intelligenz (KI). „Die Fragen, die durch KI aufgeworfen werden, sind so vielfältig wie die verschiedenen Anwendungen“, sagte Filipovic.

Copyright: UnternehmerTUM / Bert Willer

Wer ist Schuld, wenn ein autonomes System einen Fehler macht? Wollen wir, dass Roboter für unsere alten Menschen sorgen? Wie können wir KI-Systeme entwickeln, die unsere Werte verinnerlicht haben? „Auf viele solcher Fragen suchen Experten innerhalb und außerhalb der Enquete-Kommission zurzeit nach Antworten“, erklärte Alexander Filipovic. „Ich denke, dass die Stimme der Ethiker hier sehr wichtig ist.“

Kai Schmidhuber, Chief Digital Director von L‘Orèal Deutschland, gab Einblicke darüber, wie die Digitalisierung den klassischen Handel verändert. Thomas Bachem, Gründer und Kanzler der CODE University in Berlin, skizzierte wie die Universität der Zukunft aussehen könnte. Und die Pitches erfolgreicher Start-ups wie deepC, shyftplan, Innoactive , blik, Isar Aerospace oder TWAICE vermittelten ein Gefühl davon, welche wachstumsstarken Geschäftsideen das Netzwerk von UnternehmerTUM unterstützt.

Mehr Informationen unter forum.unternehmertum.de