01/27/2020
Accelerator RESPOND launches: Looking for start-ups with ecological and social impact
Assuming responsibility for a more peaceful, just and sustainable future is currently enjoying great popularity among founders: Two thirds of the start-ups surveyed by the Green Startup Monitor 2018 state that they aim to achieve positive social or ecological impact through their business model. However, there is often still a lack of offerings, particularly for responsible entrepreneurs. 

To support founders in scaling their ventures and to underline the importance of socially and environmentally relevant business models, the BMW Foundation Herbert Quandt initiated the accelerator program RESPOND with support from Europe’s leading Center for Innovation and Business Creation UnternehmerTUM. The accelerator program RESPOND will start on June 22, 2020. 
 
RESPOND is a five-month program aimed at founders who use innovative technologies and entrepreneurial approaches to solve complex global challenges. In four face-to-face sprints in Munich, the founders participate in workshops on impact-oriented business, marketing, sales, financing and responsible management.   
 
The participants will have the opportunity to collaborate with the global networks of the BMW Foundation and UnternehmerTUM as well as to exchange experiences among each other. In addition, the participants have free access to the co-working spaces at the premises of UnternehmerTUM in Munich during the five-month program period. Through the accelerator program, the founders learn to better assess the strengths and weaknesses of their business models and to plan the medium- and long-term goals of their entrepreneurial development. Moreover, they are enhancing their leadership skills.


The application period for RESPOND is January 20 until March 1, 2020. As for the first cohort, a particular focus is on founders whose business models contribute to achieving one of the three following Sustainable Development Goals of the United Nations 2030 Agenda

  • Goal 8 – Decent Work and Economic Growth
  • Goal 9 – Industry, Innovation and Infrastructure
  • Goal 11 – Sustainable Cities and Communities
 

“By empowering impact-oriented founders to scale their innovative solutions and technologies, the BMW Foundation wants to contribute to a systemic transformation towards a sustainable economic and financial system,” said Dr.-Ing. Heba Aguib, Chief Executive RESPOND, BMW Foundation. “Responsible Leadership – that is, leaders taking responsible action – is a key lever to this end. Through programs such as RESPOND, we identify, activate and support leaders who drive this transformation.”
 
“We believe that startups have the innovative power, creativity, and energy to make an essential contribution to finding solutions to global challenges such as the climate crisis and social inequality,” said Miki Yokoyama, COO for RESPOND at UnternehmerTUM. “RESPOND supports founders who set out to provide answers to global issues.”

More information on applying to the accelerator program is available at respond-accelerator.com.


© Header image: Marc Beckmann

27.01.2020
Accelerator RESPOND startet: Start-ups mit ökologischen und gesellschaftlichen Lösungen gesucht
Verantwortung übernehmen liegt bei Gründenden im Trend: So streben zwei Drittel der im Rahmen des Green Startup Monitors 2018 befragten Start-ups an, eine positive gesellschaftliche oder ökologische Wirkung zu erzielen. Es fehlt allerdings oftmals noch an speziellen Angeboten für verantwortungsbewusste Teams. 

Um Talenten bei der Skalierung ihrer Unternehmen zu unterstützen und die Bedeutung gesellschaftlich, ökologisch und sozial relevanter Geschäftsmodelle zu unterstreichen, hat die BMW Foundation Herbert Quandt mit Unterstützung von Europas führendem Innovations- und Gründerzentrum UnternehmerTUM das Accelerator-Programm RESPOND initiiert. Das Programm startet am 22. Juni 2020.  
 
RESPOND läuft über eine Dauer von fünf Monaten und richtet sich an Gründende, die durch innovative Technologien und unternehmerische Ansätze komplexe globale Probleme lösen. In den vier Präsenzphasen des Programms nehmen sie an Workshops in München zu wirkungsorientiertem Wirtschaften, Marketing, Vertrieb, Finanzierung und verantwortungsvoller Unternehmensführung teil.  
 
Die Teilnehmenden profitieren von dem Austausch und der Kollaboration, sowohl untereinander als auch mit den globalen Netzwerken der BMW Foundation und von UnternehmerTUM. Zudem erhalten sie während der fünf Monate kostenfreien Zugang zu Coworking Spaces in den Räumen von UnternehmerTUM in München. Die Gründungsteams lernen durch das Accelerator-Programm, die Stärken und Schwächen ihrer Geschäftsmodelle besser einzuschätzen und die mittel- und langfristigen Ziele ihrer unternehmerischen Entwicklung zu planen. Zudem bauen sie ihre Führungskompetenzen aus.


Die Bewerbungsphase für RESPOND läuft vom 20. Januar bis 1. März 2020. Besonderer Fokus liegt bei der Auswahl der ersten Kohorte auf Personen, deren Geschäftsmodelle einen Beitrag zu einem der drei folgenden, nachhaltigen Entwicklungsziele der Agenda 2030 der Vereinten Nationen leisten: 

  • Ziel 8 – Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
  • Ziel 9 – Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
  • Ziel 11 – Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden 
 

Dr.-Ing. Heba Aguib, Chief Executive RESPOND, BMW Foundation Herbert Quandt: „Indem die BMW Foundation wirkungsorientierte Gründende befähigt, ihre innovativen Lösungen und Technologien zu skalieren, will sie zu einer systemischen Transformation hin zu einem nachhaltigen Wirtschafts- und Finanzsystem beitragen. Responsible Leadership, also verantwortungsvolles Handeln von Führungspersönlichkeiten, ist dafu?r der zentrale Hebel. Mit Programmen wie RESPOND identifizieren, aktivieren und unterstützen wir Personen, die diesen Wandel vorantreiben.“ 
 
Miki Yokoyama, COO bei RESPOND, UnternehmerTUM: „Wir glauben, dass Startups die Innovationskraft, Kreativität und Energie haben, um zu Lösungen für globale Herausforderungen wie der Klimakrise und sozialen Ungerechtigkeiten entscheidend beizutragen. Mit RESPOND unterstützen wir die Gründende, die sich auf den Weg machen, Antworten zu globalen Fragestellungen zu geben.“ 
 
Weitere Informationen zur Bewerbung um eine Teilnahme an dem Accelerator-Programm findet ihr auf respond-accelerator.com. 


© Headerbild: Marc Beckmann